Licensing Requirements

Each state has unique licensure requirements for the funeral service program.  State requirements vary and some states require specific college courses prior to entering mortuary college.  The ABFSE accredited program at FINE Mortuary College is recognized in all 50 states.  Completion of the program at FINE Mortuary College allows a student to take the National Board Exam in all 50 states.  Please check your specific state for specific licensing and educational requirements.  The College will assist you with questions concerning such special requirements for each state. 

**Our program currently does not accept California residents in our distance education program.

Alabama:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • U.S. Citizen
  • High school graduate or equivalent
  • 2-year apprenticeship (within 3 consecutive years – served during or after education)
  • Graduate of an accredited mortuary school (approved by the board) or hold a bachelor’s degree
  • Case Report (minimum 40)
  • State Law Exam (LRR)

Fees:

  • Application fee - $50
  • State board exam fee - $285
  • State exam fee - $50
  • Licensing fee - $200

For additional information:

 

Alaska:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Transcript from an accredited college or university showing at least 30 semester hours of credit
  • 1 year apprenticeship (served anytime)
  • Case reports (minimum 24)
  • State Law Exam (LRR)
  • NBE

Fees:

  • Application fee - $150
  • State exam fee - $60
  • NBE fee - $570
  • Licensing fee - $235

For additional information:

 

Arizona:

Qualifications:

  • High school graduate or equivalent
  • Graduate of an accredited or provisionally accredited school of mortuary science
  • Apprenticeship (served before education)
  • 25 arrangements (case reports)
  • 25 funerals (case reports)
  • State law exam (LRR)
  • NBE (arts only) or state equivalent exam

Fees:

  • Application fee - $85
  • LRR Exam fee - $80
  • NBE (arts) fee - $285
  • Fingerprint fee - $22
  • License fee - $85

For additional information:

 

Arkansas:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High school graduate or the equivalent
  • 20 hrs. in Funeral Service Practice/ethics & law/ rules approved by board
  • Completion of the requirement to be a graduate of a school of embalmers (may be substituted for 6 of the 18-month apprenticeship)
  • State law exam (LRR)
  • 18-month apprenticeship (served at any time)
  • 50 arrangements (case reports)

Fees:

  • State exam fee - $100

Additional:

  • The board may require applicants for licensure as funeral directors to successfully complete up to twenty (20) hours of classroom instruction in funeral service practices and ethics, and laws, rules, and regulations affecting funeral service. Only courses of instruction approved by the board shall satisfy this requirement

For additional information:

 

*California:

Our institution does not currently accept students who reside in California for our online program.

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • Associate in Arts or Associate in Science Degree, or equivalent
  • No criminal record as stated under Section 480 of the Business and Professions Code
  • State law exam (LRR)

Fees:

  • Application fee - $100
  • Licensing fee - $200
  • State law exam fee - $100

For additional information:

 

*Colorado:

Qualifications:

  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Associate Degree, or its credit hour equivalent, a portion of which is in funeral service education
  • Passing a state and/or national board licensing examination administered through the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards
  • Internship or apprenticeship ranging from one to three years

Additional:

  • Many states require that funeral directors meet continuing education requirements to maintain licensure. (Six hours of continuing education is required to maintain Active status with the Colorado Funeral Service Board.)

For additional information:

 

Connecticut:

Qualifications:

  • Background check
  • ABFSE accredited Associated in Mortuary Science
  • 1 year apprenticeship (served before education)
  • State Board Exams
  • NBE

Fees:

  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exams - $
  • License fee - $210

Additional:

  • Any person licensed as a funeral director in another state whose requirements for licensure in such capacity are substantially similar to or higher than those of this state and who is a currently practicing competent practitioner shall be eligible for licensure without examination upon application and payment of a fee of two hundred ten dollars, provided all such applicants shall be required to pass an examination, given in writing, on the Connecticut public health laws and the regulations of the Department of Public Health pertaining to the activities of a funeral director. No license shall be issued under this section to any applicant against whom professional disciplinary action is pending or who is the subject of an unresolved complaint.

For additional information:

 

Delaware

Qualifications:

  • Background check
  • ABFSE accredited graduate
  • Completed a Delaware Resident Internship
    • 25 embalming’s/ 4 quarterly reports
    • NBE
    • State law exam

OR

  • hold a current Funeral Director license in another jurisdiction (state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia) AND have practiced as a funeral director at least three of the past five years.

OR IF YOU DO NOT MEET EITHER OF THE ABOVE

  • 1 year apprenticeship

ALL APPLICANTS MUCH PASS THE STATE EXAM

Fees:

  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $140
  • License fee - $188

For additional information:

 

(Washington) DC:

Qualifications

  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • ABFSE accredited program with Associates in Mortuary Science
  • 1 years apprenticeship (2 years without associates degree)
  • 25 embalming’s (case report)
  • 25 funerals (case report)
  • State Exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  • License fee - $65
  • Apprentice fee - $110.00 (up to 4 years)  
  • State exam - $195
  • State exam fee - $195
  • NBE - $570

For additional information:

 

Florida:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • ABFSE accredited program bachelor’s or Associates in Mortuary Science
  • 1 year apprenticeship
  • 2-hour Community Disease Course
  • State Law Exam (LRR)
  • NBE

OR By Endorsement

  • NBE
  • State Law Exam (LRR)
  • Certificate of Licensed History
  • Associates Degree or Higher in FS OR Associates or Higher in another subject along with a MS course or FS Arts Course
  • 2-hour Community Disease Course

** there are combined FD and Embalmer Licenses**

Fees:

  • License fee - $374 - $562
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $285

For additional information:

 

Georgia:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • ABFSE accredited program graduate
  • 3,120-hour apprenticeship
  • 50 funerals (case report)
  • State law exam (LRR)

Fees:

  • License fee - $50
  • State exam fee - $60

Only have FD/embalmer combo license

For additional information:

 

Hawaii:

Embalmer license info only

 

Idaho:

Qualifications:

  • 21 or older
  • Associates degree from a mortuary school accredited by the ABFSE
  • 1-year apprenticeship (served at any time)
  • 25 embalming’s (case reports)
  • 25 funeral arrangements (case reports)
  • 25 funerals (case reports)
  • State exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  • License fee - $85
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee -

For additional information:

 

Illinois:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Complete one academic year at a college or university
  • Complete one year in a professional school or college teaching the practice of funeral directing that is recognized and approved by IDFPR
  • 1 year apprenticeship (served after education)
  • State Law exam (LRR)
  • NBE

Fees:

  • License fee - $100
  • State exam fee –
  • NBE - $570

For additional information

 

Indiana:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High School diploma or equivalent
  • 30 semester hours of college plus 4 academic quarter in an accredited mortuary school or completion of 21-month accredited mortuary science program
  • 1 apprenticeship (1,500 hours)
  • 24 embalming’s (case reports)
  • 24 arrangements, services, and dispositions (case reports)
  • State exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  • Application fee - $100
  • NBE - $570
  • State exam fee - $50
  • License fee - $50

For additional information:

 

Iowa:     

Qualifications:

  • 60 semester hours (minimum) from a regionally accredited college or university with a 2.0 or C GPA
  • Complete a mortuary science course from a school accredited by the ABFSE
  • 1 year apprenticeship (after graduation)
  • 25 embalming’s (case reports)
  • 25 funerals (case reports)
  • State exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee –

For additional information:

 

Kansas:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • 2 years of general college education (with at least 60 semester hours)
  • 1 year apprenticeship
  • 25 funeral services (case reports)
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $228
  • State exam fee -

For additional information:

 

*Kentucky:

Qualifications:

  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • 25 removals (case reports)
  • 25 funerals (case reports)
  • State exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  • License fee - $100
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $100

Apprenticeship - Process - Kentucky Board of Embalmers & Funeral Directors

For additional information:

 

Louisiana:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High School diploma or equivalent
  • Completed a minimum of 30 semester hours in an accredited college or university
  • Completed a course of science embalming and the profession of funeral directing at an accredited school recognized by the board
  • 9-month apprenticeship/internship
  • 30 funerals (case reports)
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $250
  • State exam fee - $285

*NBE is only requited for a dual FD/Embalmer License*

For additional information:

 

Maine:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • Associates Degree in Funeral Service (ABFSE accredited) OR
  • Completion of 50 credit hours of study at a college of mortuary science (ABFSE accredited) and successful completion of sufficient number of college semester credit hours to entitle the applicant to admission as a member in good standing of the second year of any college or university accredited
  • 1 year apprenticeship
  • NBE
  • State Law exam (LRR)

Fees:

  • NBE fee - $570
  • State Law exam fee - $120

For additional information:

 

Maryland:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High School diploma or equivalent
  • Background check
  • Associates Degree in Mortuary Science at an accredited school (ABFSE)
  • Graduate with a minimum 2.0 GPA
  • 3-year apprenticeship
  • 20 funeral directions including at least four of each of the following
    • Pre-need arrangement
    • At-need arrangement for burial
    • Cremation arrangement
    • Cemetery transfer with a service
  • 20 embalming’s
  • 1,000 worked
  • NBE
  • State Law exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $600
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State Law exam fee - $265

For additional information:

 

Massachusetts:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Background check
  • Associates Degree in Mortuary Science
  • *2-year apprenticeship (served at any time)
  • 50 embalming’s
  • 25 funerals or pre-need conferences
  • State exams

Fees:

  • License fee - $66
  • State exams fee - $83

For additional information:

 

Michigan:

Qualifications:

  • Graduated from a 3-year course in mortuary science at a school, college, or university that is accredited
  • 1 year apprenticeship/trainee (served during education)
  • 25 embalming’s
  • 20 each of the following
    • Removing remains from the place of death
    • Completing and filing a death certificate and obtaining the burial transit permit
    • Contacting newspapers for placement of a death notice
    • Arranging for clergy
    • Checking in and placing flowers
    • Receiving visitors
    • Assisting in selling funeral merchandise
    • Assisting in making funeral arrangements
    • Arranging cemetery details
    • Assisting at the funeral
    • Applying cosmetics to, and arranging the hair of, a deceased person
  • All the following services not less than 3 times each:
    • Arranging for or providing music.
    • Completing and filing social security forms
    • Completing and filing veterans' forms
    • Performing restorative work
    • Arranging the receiving or transferring of human remains by common carrier
    • Contacting the deceased's lodge, club, or place of employment concerning the
  • State exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  • License fee - $60/$100
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $59

Additional:

  • The department may waive a portion of the requirement under subsection (1)(a) of 1 year of resident training if the applicant has a baccalaureate degree from an accredited school, college, or university, and the department determines that the degree is a satisfactory substitute for the resident training.

For additional information:

 

Minnesota:

Qualifications:

  • 21 or older
  • Bachelor of science degree with a major in Mortuary Science from an accredited college or university
  • Bachelor of science or art degree from an accredited college or university and completed a separate course of study in Mortuary Science from a college of funeral service education accredited by the ABFSE OR
  • Completed credit hours at accredited colleges or universities that in the numerical aggregate and distribution are the functional equivalent of a Bachelor of Arts or science degree from a program of mortuary science accredited by the ABFSE
  • 2,080-hour Internship (after passing the exams) completed within a 3-year period (520 hours may be waived if you complete a clinical or practicum in mortuary science administered course)
  • 25 case reports in each
    • Embalming
    • Funeral arrangements
    • Services
  • NBE
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $200
  • NBE - $570
  • State exam fee –$125

For additional information:

 

Mississippi:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Minimum 1 year of academic and profession instruction from an institution accredited by the US Department of Education for Funeral Service Education
  • Certificate of completion from an institution accredited by the ABFSE
  • 1 year apprenticeship/trainee (before or after graduation)
  • NBE
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee -
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $285

For additional information:

 

Missouri:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Completed a funeral service education program accredited by the ABFSE
  • 1 year apprenticeship (served during education)
  • 10 funeral ceremonies
  • 25 embalming’s
  • NBE
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $150
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $285

For additional information:

 

Montana:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • ABFSE program graduate with an Associates in Funeral Service/mortuary science
  • 1 year apprenticeship
  • 25 case reports
  • State exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  • License fee - $544
  • State exam fee -
  • NBE fee - $570

For additional information:

 

Nebraska:

Qualifications:

  • 19 or older
  • Background check
  • 60 semester hours of college credit (not included in mortuary school)
  • Completed a full course of instruction in an accredited school of Mortuary Science
  • 1 year apprenticeship (served before or after education)
  • 25 embalming’s
  • 25 funerals
  • NBE
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $90
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $

For additional information:

 

Nevada:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • NBE
  • State exam
  • 1 year apprenticeship

Fees:

  • License fee - $375
  • NBE fee – $570
  • State exam fee – $285

For additional information:

 

New Hampshire:

Qualifications:

  • Must hold an embalmer license
    • 18 or older
    • Background check
    • Completed 30 credit hours (1 year) at an accredited postsecondary educational institution
    • 1 year apprenticeship (under someone who is dually licensed)
    • Completed a full course of instruction in an embalming school maintaining at that time a standard satisfactory to the board
    • NBE
    • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee -
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $150

For additional information:

 

New Jersey:

Qualifications:

  •  High School diploma or equivalent
  • 2 years at a school approved by the Commission of Higher Education
  • 1 year at a mortuary school approved by the ABFSE
  • OR have completed a minimum of 3 years of academic instruction in a college or university approved by the Commission of Higher Education and one year of academic instruction in a mortuary school approved by the ABFSE
  • 1- or 2-year apprenticeship (practical training)
  • 25 case reports
  • NBE
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $350
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State Exam fee - $75

For additional information:

 

New Mexico:

Qualifications:

  • 18 years or older
  • Associates Degree in Funeral Science (at least 60 semester hours) from an ABFSE accredited institution
  • 1 year apprenticeship
  • 50 embalming’s
  • 50 funeral arrangements
  • 50 funerals directed
  • NBE (arts only)
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $200
  • NBE fee - $285
  • State exam – $100

For additional information:

 

New York:

Qualifications:

  • 60 semester credits from a NYS Department of Health or recognized accrediting agency (2 years)
  • 1 year apprenticeship
  • 40 case reports
  • NBE
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee $125
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee –

For additional information:

 

North Carolina:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • Graduate from a FD Program accredited by the ABFSE or approved by the board
  • 1-year apprenticeship (within 3 years)
  • 25 case reports
  • NBE (for combo embalming/FD license)
  • State exam

Fees:

  • Licensure fee - $150
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee –

For additional information:

 

North Dakota:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • 2-year ABFSE accredited program with an Associates in Mortuary Science (must include a minimum of 60 semester hours)
  • NBE
  • State exam (LRR)

Fees:

  • License fee - $100
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee –

For additional information:

 

Ohio:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • Bachelor’s degree from a college or university authorized to confer degrees by the Ohio Board of Regents or comparable agency of another state in which the college or university is located
  • 2-year apprenticeship
  • 50 funerals (case reports)
  • Complete the list of “Funeral Director Task List”
  • NBE
  • State exam (LRR)

Fees:

  • License fee - $200
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $285

For additional information:

 

Oklahoma:

Qualifications:

  • 20 years or older
  • US citizen or permanent resident
  • Earned 60 semester hours from a regionally accredited college or university
  • Graduate from an ABFSE accredited mortuary science program
  • 1 year apprenticeship (can begin before beginning a MS degree)
  • NBE
  • State exam (LRR)

Fees:

  • License fee - $75
  • NBE exam fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $100

For additional information:

 

Oregon:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • Earn an Associates (or higher) degree in any field
  • 1 year apprenticeship (with 1440 hours)
  • 25 funerals or dispositions
  • State exam (LRR)
  • NBE (this and LRR for combo license)

Fees:

  • License fee - $80
  • NBE - $570
  • State exam fee - $100

For additional information:

 

Pennsylvania:

Qualifications:

  • 21 or older
  • Background check
  • 2 years at an accredited college or university and
  • 1 year course at a mortuary college accredited by the ABFSE
  • 1 year apprenticeship/resident internship
  • 35 case reports
  • State exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  • License fee - $25
  • NBE - $570
  • State exam fee - $190

For additional information:

 

Rhode Island:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • US Citizen
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Mortuary Science graduate from an ABFSE accredited program OR
  • Minimum associates degree or the equivalent of 60 semester hours from an approved college or university
  • 1 year Internship/apprenticeship
  • 50 embalming’s (case report)
  • State exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  • License fee - $30
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam -

For additional information:

 

South Carolina:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High School diploma or equivalent
  • 1 year course in an accredited mortuary college OR
  • Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university OR
  • Successful completion of 60 semester hours at a regionally accredited college or university
  • 2-year apprenticeship
  • 50 case reports
  • NBE
  • State exam

Fees:

  • Apprentice fee - $50
  • FD License fee - $100
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee -

For additional information:

 

South Dakota:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • 60 semester hours from a college or university in a course approved by the State Board of Funeral Service
  • 1 year course at a school of embalming (accredited by the board)
  • 1 year apprenticeship/trainee (embalmer-funeral director 2,080 hrs)
  • 25 case reports (at least 5 funeral arrangements)
  • NBE
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $125
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $50

For additional information:

 

Tennessee:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High School diploma or equivalent
  • Complete a program of study in the Funeral Service Education consisting of not less than 30 semester hours from a school accredited by the ABFSE
  • 2-year apprenticeship OR 1 year apprenticeship with mortuary school
  • State exam OR NBE
  • State law exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $435
  • State exam fee - $250
  • NBE - $570

For additional information:

 

Texas:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • High School diploma or equivalent
  • Graduated from an accredited school or college of mortuary science
  • Completed the provisional licensing program
    • Been employed during the entirety of the program
  • 45 case reports
  • NBE
  • State law exam (LRR)

Fees:

  • License fee - $175
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $285

For additional information:

 

Utah:

Qualifications:

  • High School diploma or equivalent
  • Associates degree in mortuary science from a school of funeral service accredited by the ABFSE
  • 1 year apprenticeship
  • Completed 2,000 hours
  • 50 embalming’s
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $160
  • State exam fee - $68

For additional information:

 

Vermont:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High School diploma or equivalent
  • Graduate of a Funeral Service accredited (ABFSE) college, no less than 2 academic years
  • 1 year traineeship/apprenticeship
  • 50 case reports
  • NBE
  • State exam (LRR)

Fees:

  • License fee - $70
  • NBE fee - $570
  • LRR exam fee -

For additional information:

 

Virginia:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High School diploma or equivalent
  • Graduated from a school of mortuary science
  • 1 year internship/apprenticeship
  • 25 embalming’s
  • 25 funerals
  • State exam

Fees:

  • License fee - $325
  • State exam fee - $285

For additional information:

 

Washington:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Associates of Art Degree in Mortuary Science
  • 1 year Internship
  • 1,800 hours of employment
  • 25 arrangements for funeral, memorial, and/or final disposition services for human remains
  • State exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  • License fee - $100
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam fee - $140

For additional information:

 

West Virginia:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • High School diploma or equivalent
  • Associates Degree from an accredited college or university
  • Diploma from a school of mortuary science accredited by the ABFSE which requires as a prerequisite to graduation the completion of a course of study not less than 12 months duration
  • 1 year apprenticeship after completion of educational requirements
  • 35 embalming’s
  • 35 funeral services
  • State exam
  • NBE

Fees:

  •  License fee - $160
  • NBE - $570
  • State exam fee -

For additional information:

 

Wisconsin:

Qualifications:

  • 18 or older
  • Background check
  • Complete 24 semester credits from a regionally accredited college
  • Completion of 9 or more months instruction in a prescribed curriculum in funeral service education
  • 1-year apprenticeship (before or after) education
  • NBE
  • State exam

Fees:

  •  License fee - $75
  • NBE fee - $570
  • State exam -

For additional information:

 

Wyoming:

Qualifications:

  • NBE
  • State exam

For additional information: